Down But Not Out

Please Like our Fb Page: http://facebook.com/4thedealcutters

Image

These past couple of weeks have been a roller coaster ride, to say the least. Between the weather and both businesses, I’ve been emotionally up, down and all around! Lol  I can laugh now, but three days ago, I wanted cry out of frustration. I had written a blog about an order that was placed with TheDealCutters a few weeks ago… FRAUDULENT CHARGE! The cardholder called to say a charge for XX amount was placed on her card and asked how I got her information. The funny part (after the dust settled) was that she had the package… huh?! What kind of crooks were these? Well, anywho, to make a long story short, we coordinated to ship the order back and to refund her $$. The frustrating part was that, at the very tail end, when the cardholder sent the package from her local UPS Store. The label I printed was not pulling up in the tracking system, and the employees said they didn’t see it the package. Well, come to find out, the label was under another tracking number. Don’t ask, because I can’t explain it. In the end, all parties (except the bad guys) are happy campers. Product returned. Money refunded. Today was a good day 🙂

Two days ago, I was totally emotional because, for the first time since Christmas, I saw my 3-yr old grandson, Elijah! Saturday morning, my husband, Mike, said he had a surprise for me, so I’m thinking dinner or something, right? I would’ve never guessed that Mike had arranged to get Elijah for the weekend. (I know I use blogging as a sort of diary, but I’ll spare you all the details). With the weather finally warming up, we were able to take Elijah’s favorite Christmas present, an electric motorcycle outside. He and I went up and down the cul-de-sac “patrolling the neighborhood”, and he had a BLAST! This has been the first time since August that we’ve been home and had good weather, so we made up for a lot of lost time. I took Elijah to see my grandmother and they got all caught up with life. Needless to say, hardly any work got done! Lol

The cherry on top was that my 24-year old, Andre (Elijah’s dad), and his girlfriend, Symone, came by to hang out with us for a while. Andre told us about a 4-part video series by Steve Stoute (a brilliant brand marketer) that he thought we would like. It’s titled, The Tanning Of America”. Awesome!! I was raised during the early days of Hip Hop and, even better, I was fortunate to be raised in NYC during this transformation. So, I got to enjoy all genres of music, from Kiss and Madonna to Run DMC and The Beastie Boys (I actually went to H.S. with one of them). The special was a fresh perspective on how Hip Hop impacted just about every aspect of every day life. Thus cross-breeding urban with suburban and even country life. (You’ll have to watch the special to understand that one). I love the changes. I love just about any change that makes something so different, in a positive way. But. then again, I guess one’s own perspective would have to determine the positive aspects, if any, of Hip Hop.

“You fall down seven times. You stand up eight.” Drake (I believe). Yes, I felt defeated, for a brief moment, here and there. But I know me and it ain’t that easy. I’ve been through too many crazy situations to let a little issue with a tracking number swing my mood. It was just one of those times like, “What now?!”. You know when you can see the light at the end of the tunnel, then it’s like BAM! It starts storming outside. Yep, a few those days. “And this, too, shall pass.” You’ll see me write that from time to time. Why? Because it is the one cliche that helps get me back focused when situations get a little out of control. I’m good… no, I’m AWESOME! 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Down But Not Out

Leave a Reply

