Best Practices For Setting Life Transforming Goals – Short Term Goals

         Become an Insider

Hopefully you’re in a good habit of eating healthy and getting good exercise on a regular basis. Even if not to lose weight, just to stay in shape. I, unfortunately, am not the best eater and do not get to exercise often. Driving and riding in a truck for 20+ hours a day, makes it really hard to stay on track with doing what’s right. I try to incorporate my chair exercises while I’m driving but, keeping safety in mind, don’t get to do them but so often. So, I have created some goals that I need to start working toward. I am proud to say that I’ve already started taking baby steps toward achieving them.

I’m writing this post, for me and for you, in case getting started or staying motivated seems a bit too daunting. This is all in an effort to reach our peak state of physical health, which has a direct result on our mental health, right? Even if your goal has nothing to do with physical health, but maybe finances or parenting, I think you’ll find great value in this 3-part series on goal setting. If you haven’t read last week’s post, “Life Transformation: Developing a Pre-Goal Setting Mindset,” I suggest you read that, just so you get some advice on how and why we set goals in the first place.

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/388787380305592166/

So, let’s get started with the short-term goal part of the equation. I think this is the most important stage because it’s those little wins that help keep us going in the right direction. Your short-term goals should be quickly and easily attainable. This would include changing one small bad habit, like cutting down your soda intake or trading a half hour of watching tv for taking a look at your bank statement and monthly budget. For me, I’m cutting down my coffee consumption and getting a good stretch in a couple times a day instead of a couple times a week. I’ve not completely cut coffee out, but have reduced my intake from 60 ozs to 40 ozs in the past two weeks… YEAH!!

Read entire post

Leave a Reply

