How To Handle An Outrageous Customer Service Experience

Outrageous is the best word I could think of, to describe this particular customer service experience. Unfortunately, I had to witness this interaction. Fortunately, it wasn’t toward me! But, even so, I was truly disturbed by the offender, but equally proud of the employee who the verbal assault was aimed at.

Anger Management quote

So, what exactly happened? While stopping to grab some coffee for myself, and a snack for my husband, Mike, I was waiting for another customer to be helped at the counter. As usual, I was listening to my music, through my earbuds, but not too loud, so if anybody spoke to me, I could hear them over my music.

I saw and heard, what seemed like offensive words and body language, and turned my music completely off. The first clear words I heard were, “Does it look like I’m laughing?! I don’t see or hear anything funny!”. The customer was irate about something, so I listened, intently, trying to figure out what happened.

The young man behind the counter had a smirk on his face, so I figured some sort of joke or comment was made that set this hostile interaction in motion. The customer continued by saying, “Man, you acting like a little bitch right now!” Before I could think, I said, “Whoa! Whoa! What the…?” I didn’t need the play-by-play details to know the customer had gone way overboard! If he was that upset by the clerk, it was time to call in the Manager. At the very least, he should have let the other clerk complete his transaction.

I left out of the store and listened to my music for a minute, to pull myself together. Upon re-entering the store, the rude customer held the door for me. I held my tongue, and gave him a short, “Thank you.” When I walked in, the two clerks behind the counter were giggling, as if what had happened was somehow amusing.

Click here to read the entire blog post and to hear the audio version of this blog post

Leave a Reply

