Live and Love YOUR Life!

Are you loving the life you’re living? I mean really loving it? Or are you in “fake it ’til you make it” mode? Is it easier for you to tell others how to live their life, but you can’t eat what you dish out? What sparked this week’s discussion is that, this topic of giving advice that one wouldn’t take themselves, has come up from a few different people I know. The weird thing is… they don’t know each other.

Whenever someone asks my opinion on a professional matter, that’s usually an easy business decision. Even personal business matters, such as bank accounts, are pretty much just a matter of doing a bit of research… what bank charges less fees? Which school district is the best place to buy or rent a home? My answer is usually, “Google it.” It’s a wrap.

Now, when it comes to personal matters, like raising kids or a new boyfriend… well, that’s a dog of another breed. I’m quick to listen, but slow to speak. First thing I take into account, is who I’m talking to. Some people, if you let them talk long enough, will solve their own problem. If they can’t figure it out, I’ll give them just enough input to get the answer they’re comfortable with.

Unfortunately, there are too many people who are quick to speak and slow to listen. Giving advice that they, themselves, don’t follow, is a way of life for them. I understand that it’s easier to “talk the talk”, but at some point, shouldn’t they be honest enough to say something like, “you know, I feel where you’re coming from, but I don’t know what I would do.” or “it’s hard to say” and leave it at that?

CLICK HERE TO READ THE ENTIRE BLOG POSTΒ AND TO LISTEN TO THE AUDIO VERSION

Leave a Reply

