Cruising Customer Service

My husband, Mike, treated me to a Mother’s Day/ early Anniversary cruise to Freeport and Nassau, Grand Bahamas…YAY! We had a wonderful time on the Carnival Sensation, and on each of the islands. Much better than the cruise we took last year to Nassau. Last year we cruised with Royal Caribbean. The only part of the cruise with Royal Caribbean that was better than the cruise on Carnival, was that we stopped for a day on Coco Cay Island, which is privately owned by Royal Caribbean. On Coco Cay, you get a great lunch buffet , plenty of fun in the sun and fairly-priced souvenir shops and great drinks!

(Neither of these gents is my husband. In fact, I didn’t realize they thought I was taking a picture of them! Lol)

However, the Carnival Sensation had Royal Caribbean beat, hands down, in customer service! Mike and I are used to the room attendants addressing the passengers by first name. The dining room and guest services wait staff and crew members do as well. But, when I called to order room service, for the first time, I must say that I got a true welcoming feeling when the lady, taking my order, addressed me by name, too! I told my Mike, “How cool? She just addressed me by name!.” Mike was so impressed, he insisted on placing the room service order the next night. Lol

The only “oops” I experienced during the entire 5-day cruise was a bit of a doozy. The next morning, i put the room service tray on the floor, in the hall outside of the cabin, as we’re supposed to. Well, apparently the other passengers had already put their room service trays out, much earlier, while I didn’t put ours out until a little after 10am, as I was leaving the room to get some coffee. As I was walking down the hall near our cabin, a crew member was bending down to put up our room service tray and muttered, “… Americanas!” in what I believe was French. Instead of losing my temper, I kindly ignored the hasty comment and said, “Thank you,” with a big smile. I wasn’t about to get into it with him and dampen my mood. I was enjoying the awesomeness of the entire trip, and “one monkey don’t stop no show!” Lol Plus, I knew there would be an opportunity to tell Carnival about this incident later.

CLICK HERE TO CONTINUE READING

Leave a Reply

